Kaleta Brown has served the cause of theatre education since the mid 1960s in countless ways. Her contributions have ranged from serving as Chair of the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival, Region 8, and as Vice-President of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology to being a long-term board member of not only the national Educational Theatre Association, but also as President of: the Southern California Educational Theatre Association, the California Educational Theatre Association, and the Legislative Action Coalition for Arts Education.

Beyond her dedicated service in professional theatre organizations, Kaleta distinguished herself in her tenure at Cypress Community College, as a theatre instructor, as department chair of Theatre Arts & Dance, and later, as Dean of Fine Arts and On-line Education; overseeing the departments of Dance, Music, Journalism, Photography, Theatre, and Visual and Graphic Arts.

Kaleta has been the recipient of many awards over the years. After receiving KC/ACTF Gold Medallions (1978, 1997), Kaleta was inducted into KC/ACTF Region VIII Fellows (1997), and became the sole recipient historically for Region 8 of the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival, Life Achievement Award (1998), before receiving their KC/ACTF Outstanding Educator Award in 2002. As a distinguished Cypress College Faculty member and Arts Administrator, Kaleta received commendations culminating in the college’s NISOD Award and a Cypress College Patrons of the Arts Life Membership. She was inducted into the Educational Theatre Association’s National Hall of Fame (2000) and received the CETA Medallion in 2002.

In recognition of all her dedicated and meritorious years of service in the California Educational Theatre Association, as she retires from active service on our Board of Directors, CETA is honoring all she has achieved for theatre higher education at the community college level, by creating the Kaleta Brown Community College Scholarship.

Scholarship Information:

  • This annual scholarship is offered to a community college student who is transferring to an institution of higher learning (they need not have an associate’s degree).
  • The scholarship is paid through yearly contributions/donations from interested parties.
  • There will be only one recipient per year.
  • Nominations will come from theatre instructors who are either individual members of CETA or represent an institutional membership.

Application Procedure:

The student will gather all necessary items and be personally responsible for mailing application packet by September 1st to:
Amanda Swann, 17127 Gault Street, Van Nuys, CA 91406 or e-mail to aswannie@aol.com

  • Application
  • Letter of recommendation from faculty member or department chair
  • Proof of acceptance as a Theatre major from an institution of higher learning
  • Letter of intent written by student outlining future goals in the theatre
  • Copy of community college transcripts
  • A Curriculum Vitae

Selection Process:

There will be an oral presentation in front of a selection committee. Items will represent the student’s area of concentration. Any one or all of the items below may be used:

  • Presentation of one five-minute monologue
  • Portfolio of design/technical work
  • Presentation of a directed scene
  • Presentation of critical analyses (five minimum) to be discussed and justified
  • Presentation of historical papers (five minimum) with justification of point of view

Committee will select one recipient and the scholarship will be awarded at the annual CETA Awards Ceremony.

Donations to any of these scholarships are greatly appreciated. Please make your tax-deductable check payable to CETA. Be sure to designate the specific scholarship to which you want to contribute. Send your contribution to California Educational Theatre Association, 8033 Sunset Blvd, #440, Los Angeles, CA, 90046.

Full List of Scholarships